Current Affairs‎ > ‎

Brown, Clark, Chandler, Davis, Franklin and Strickland Take the Oath

posted Jan 2, 2011, 10:11 AM by James Valley   [ updated Jan 2, 2011, 10:52 AM ]
On Saturday, January 1, 2011 shortly after 11:30 a.m. six Helena-West Helena City Council Members were sworn in to the term that runs from January 1, 2011 to December 31, 2012. These members will be up for re-election in November 2012 at the same time as the presidential election. These council members were recently elected on November 2nd and 23rd respectively. They, together with Mayor Arnell Willis, City Attorney Chalk Mitchell, and City Treasurer Patrick Roberson; constitute the eight new city officials out of the 14 elected officials. City Clerk Sandi Ramsey and four aldermen retained their positions on the council through re-election. The remaining council members are: Joe St. Columbia, Don Etherly, Jay Hollowell and Marvin Jarrett (in alpha order).

Several members of the city council had family members present who took photos along with them. The swearing is ceremony is the formal beginning of the term of office. The Oath of Office is printed the Arkansas Constitution at Article 19 Section 22 and it reads:

Oath of Office

Senators and Representatives, and all judicial and executive, State and county officers, and all other officers, both civil and military, before entering on the duties of their respective offices, shall take and subscribe to the following oath of affirmation: "I, ________, do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of Arkansas, and that I will faithfully discharge the duties of the office of ________, upon which I am now about to enter."

The city council will meet for its inaugural meeting on Tuesday, January 4, 2011 at 5:30 p.m. The agenda for the meeting is post on this webpage and can be found at Sandi Ramsey, the four absent aldermen and the remaining members of the city's elected body will be sworn in at the start of the city council meeting on January 4th. Facebook Pics As Caller ID!